Ferguson’s Jokes Not Funny!

Posted: March 5, 2015 in Shorts

I am a black man and if you continue to read you will understand why I am telling you that I am a black man. Ferguson’s racial jokes bring back memories of the time when I was sitting on a parked bus while taking a break with a group of white bus operators. Apparently they had forgotten I was on the bus because I fell asleep in the back of the bus.

I woke up during a conversation that they where having about the black bus operators passed and present at our depot. They were saying things like those coons don’t know how to talk and who do they think they are trying to come in here and take our jobs. They also used words like black Sam-boo  and jungle bunnies and the N word. Finally I could not take it any longer so I clear my throat and said don’t worry guys I know who you are I grew-up around people like you. While I was exiting the bus they were apologizing. unfortunately once someone says the things that where said that day, the pain never goes away it frozen in your mind and heart forever.

That kind of pain is chronic, yes chronic. How do we move forward with pain that continues to be inflicted upon us from birth until the day we died? I don’t have the answer, but I do know one thing if we don’t continue to have conversation all hell is going to break loose. I don’t want to be around to see it.

Leave a Reply

