Michelle Obama’s Real Self

Posted: June 22, 2014 in News

The Perpetually Oppressed Michelle Obama
Well, it looks like Michelle Obama’s real self is being thrown under the bus along with other Obama supporters who provide too much insight into a man who is damn determined that America not realize who and what he essentially is.
Michelle Obama’s attempt to rehabilitate her bitter black image reminds me of an article I read in 2002. This was after the Cincinnati riots when I was trying to fathom who the hell blacks in this country had become. Just as Rev Wright was an eye opener to many white Americans, the riots in my hometown and the ensuing rhetoric of black politics was myeye opener.
One of the things my research led me to be perplexed with is this notion the black community has that they have to wear some kind of mask in order to be acceptable to whites. It would seem that just being regular Americans would be far simpler. But the more I read, the more I understand that those blacks who subscribe to the notions of Jeremiah Wright find being a regular American distasteful.

In every position I’ve held, I’ve felt valued for my qualifications, and highly prized for being black in a sea of whiteness. I’ve sometimes felt like what James Baldwin once described as the fly in the buttermilk. Token and expendable. I am constantly aware of my loneness, of how I am being treated, of how I am treating others and how I am perceived.
[…]
But it leaves us “Only Ones” with a challenge: We must integrate without compromising ourselves or our beliefs. We must retain our cultural selves and run the risk of scaring the white folks we work with and for. We must constantly filter our experiences, screening for racism in each moment, while still being a team player. We must be able to culturally navigate both worlds, working side-by-side with folks who are only vested in their own white world. We must teach tolerance or suffer being misunderstood. We must put up with ignorant comments, always picking our battles. We must reach out to other people of color for reality checks. We must prove that we are more than a dark body the white company brings in to sit behind a desk. And we must perform twice as well as our peers and look twice as good doing it.

Always with a smile and always with flair. No exceptions.

I’m used to being the Only One, so at this point in my professional life it’s almost second nature. Still, it often leaves me feeling numb, defeated. I go home at times exhausted from the effort. I feel cheated out of being who I am in my workplace, where I spend nearly half my waking life.

Oh cry me a river. Talk about a martyr complex, you are either proud of who you are or you are not. Don’t blame “whitey” that you felt you had to conceal your “real nature”. Most of us could care less. But I find it highly tiresome and more than a little exasperating that blacks hold their culture as separate and apart from their American identity.

It certainly doesn’t speak to the reality on the ground that finds a huge percentage of white youth adopting black music, dress, eubonics, and attitudes. Combined with the indoctrination taught in our treacherous public schools which has succeeded in inculcating a few generations with “white shame”, you have millions of white kids emulating black culture and abjuring their own. So what the hell do blacks feel that they have to conceal?

When I brought this article up in a local online forum where whites and blacks were going head to head on race issues, many blacks affirmed that indeed, they felt compelled to hold back their “real’ selves.

“We must integrate without compromising ourselves or our beliefs. We must retain our cultural selves…”

And what beliefs are so alien to white America, except perhaps those that echo the rhetoric coming out of Obama’s long time mentor, Rev Jeremiah Wright.

Sociologist Dena Wallerson is a top college administrator. She remembers her 10 years as one of a few African-Americans in the graduate sociology program at a state university. She wrote a paper there titled “Minority Among Minorities,” which examined how women of color cope in a white-dominated workplace. She found that it was important for the women to network with other people of color outside of their workplace. In these networks, the women could let down their guard and strip themselves of the mask.
[…]
The mask gives you more access to the white world. It is that corporate, professional thing you take off when you get home, put your feet up, pick up the phone, and say, “Girl you wouldn’t believe the kind of day I’ve had. *” It can change daily, depending on who will see it. What doesn’t change is how heavy it is. It weighs so much, it’s numbing.

We get used to the transition — on and off, on and off. I used to date a guy who was an insurance salesman by day, thugged-out rapper by night. Tattooed biceps and all. I called him at work one day and listened to his voice mail — he sounded like a straight-up white guy. His deep voice was nasal, his words crisper than normal. With this voice, his co-workers probably had no idea who he really was. I didn’t either.

When I worked in a more corporate environment, I remember feeling exhausted at the end of the day from continuously putting on the front. Jealous that my white co-workers could let loose and blow off steam while I fronted ’til the end. Some days I was relieved just to make it to my car where I could finally breathe and play my soul music, returning to my black world.

If you read the entire article, you get an idea of why Michelle Obama is such a bitter woman. Putting up with us whitey’s is such a mind numbing, onerous task, according to her sistas.

The slings and arrows of racism can’t get you if you’re not emotionally present. In addition to the mask, tuning out white co-workers is one way of coping.

That black woman in your office who isn’t so friendly? The one who doesn’t hang out with the rest of the gang? The one who doesn’t join in on the water-cooler talk? She’s most likely using the only tool she knows to deal with being the Only One. She’s keeping a safe distance and double-checking her work. She knows that if something goes wrong, she’ll be blamed and fulfill a stereotype of the shiftless Negro.
[…]

Another big problem for “Only Ones”: being the spokesperson for the race. We’re not a monolithic group. Black folks come from as many different backgrounds as white people. Within the community, we are more attuned to the differences, but white folks have a tendency to just see black and make general assumptions.

It’s tiring being the teacher all the time, but Younger believes it is an integral part of black professionalism. The more black professionals there are, the less isolated we are, and the more diversity there is, the less each one has to teach.

Those white folks with little to no exposure to people of color, who are over eager to seem “down,” need to be taught a lot.
from The Only One: Being Black in the White Working World

Bitter Michelle Obama
No, I think maybe blacks in America need to be taught how to be Americans and quit clinging to their culture , which, unfortunately, has little to do with American culture, apparently.

So go ahead Michelle, put your mask back on, pretend to love America. Problem is, you can’t erase the real face we have already seen. And I suspect it won’t take much for your mask to slip away again.

Leave a Reply

